first_imgThe newly renamed Matataua Glacier lies in the Royal Society Range in Antarctica. Email Peter Reicek/NSF Sign up for our daily newsletter Get more great content like this delivered right to you! Country Last year, Marchant was found to have sexually harassed then–graduate student Jane Willenbring during field work in Antarctica nearly 20 years ago. Willenbring, now at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography in San Diego, California, says she was “pleased and surprised” by the move, which she says “sends a message that this sort of thing isn’t tolerated anymore.” She calls the new name “completely appropriate.”The glacier, originally named in 1994, sits near Mata Taua Peak in the Royal Society Range. “Matataua” is a Maori word meaning “a scout before the troops,” says Louis Yost, BGN’s executive secretary. BGN made the decision in agreement with the New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa). *Correction, 19 September, 10:10 a.m.: This story has been updated to reflect BGN’s status as an interdepartmental agency. By Elizabeth CulottaSep. 18, 2018 , 3:55 PMcenter_img Antarctic glacier gets new name in wake of sexual harassment finding Country * Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia, Plurinational State of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People’s Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Norway Oman Pakistan Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Qatar Reunion Romania Russian Federation Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin (French part) Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Vietnam Virgin Islands, British Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe Click to view the privacy policy. Required fields are indicated by an asterisk (*) The changes sparked by the #MeToo movement have now reached Antarctic glaciers.Last week, the Marchant Glacier was renamed the Matataua Glacier in the wake of a finding of sexual harassment against its namesake, geologist David Marchant. The change was made by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names (BGN) in Reston, Virginia, an interdepartment agency of the U.S. government.“Boston University determined David Marchant violated Title IX regulations, and U.S. policy says geographic features are to be named for people who have made extraordinary or outstanding contributions to the advancement of polar science,” says Kelly Falkner, director of the Office of Polar Programs at the National Science Foundation in Alexandria, Virginia, the lead agency for the U.S. Antarctic program. “Boston University found Marchant created an environment that was hostile and harmful to fellow researchers, particularly women. That behavior is unacceptable and impedes scientific progress,” Falkner adds.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *