Virat Kohli overtakes AB de Villiers to become fastest to reach 9000 ODI runs

first_imgVirat Kohli just keeps on scoring runs and smashing records!The India captain has now surpassed South African star AB de Villiers to become the fastest to reach 9000 One-Day International runs — in just 194 innings.The list, that is now lead by Kohli, has De Villiers on second with 9000 runs in 205 innings and former India captain Sourav Ganguly is third having reached the mark in 228 innings.On Sunday, in the ODI series decider vs New Zealand in Kanpur, Kohli stepped up his game once again and as soon as his score tally touched 83, he achieved another record.Earlier in the match, Kohli also became the first batsman to score 2000 ODI runs in 2017, beating the likes of South Africa’s Hashim Amla (1988 runs) and England’s Joe Root (1855 runs).Kohli’s list of records doesn’t end there!In the decider itself, he also became the fastest to reach 5000 runs in international cricket as captain across formats, taking only 93 innings to reach the mark. Second to him in the list is Michael Clarke who took 109 innings to reach the mark.In the first match of the series, Kohli also surpassed Australian great Ricky Ponting in the list of most ODI hundreds scoring his 31st ton. He only trails Sachin Tendulkar, who tops the list with 49 ODI centuries.The India captain had a brilliant 2016 where he struck 2595 international runs and the 28-year-old has only bettered his statistics this year.Kohli became the first batsman to reach 1000 runs in 2017 in ODIs. Till now, the India captain has scored two Test centuries and five ODI hundreds.advertisementODI isn’t the only format Kohli is flourishing in this year!Earlier in 2017, the Delhi batsman became the first to score double hundred in four straight Test series — 200 vs West Indies, 211 vs New Zealand, 235 vs England and 204 vs Bangladesh.The skipper has also led India to four consecutive ODI series win this year, along with reaching the final of ICC Champions Trophy.last_img read more

South Africa vs West Indies, World Cup 2019 Match 15: Prediction and Probable Playing 11s

first_imgSouth Africa will take on West Indies in the 15th match of ICC World Cup 2019 at Southampton on Monday.The Proteas might have had a disastrous start to the World Cup 2019 campaign, they can take inspiration from history to change things.The two heavyweights have met six times in the competition, with South Africa winning four of those matches including the previous three.Jason Holder’s team will be aiming to get back to winning ways having faced a narrow 15-run defeat in a thriller against Australia in their second encounter of World Cup 2019.Recent formRecent form doesn’t matter for the West Indies as they have got all their big names, including the likes of Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, and Shimron Hetmyer, for the World Cup campaign. The Windies have emerged as a dangerous team, as they blew off Pakistan before losing the thriller against Australia.The Proteas, meanwhile, have recorded their worst start in eight World Cup campaigns. After losing their first two matches, to England and Bangladesh, they went down by six wickets to Virat Kohli’s men on June 5.Pitch prediction – The Ageas Bowl, SouthamptonThe Ageas Bowl in Southampton has been a batting paradise in the recent past but last match between India and South Africa saw a low-scoring battle as the batsmen struggled for runs.Rain is predicted for Monday and a little bit of swing can be the only relief for bowlers at Trent Bridge.Playing XI prediction: South Africa vs West IndiesadvertisementWest Indies are unlikely to change the playing XI that lost a close battle against Australia.On the other hand, South Africa may replace Rassie van der Dussen with Aiden Markram. Der Dussen has a groin injury and is unlikely to feature against West Indies.South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis (captain), Aiden Markram, David Miller, JP Duminy, Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz ShamsiWest Indies: Chris Gayle, Shai Hope, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Andre Russell, Jason Holder (captain), Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane ThomasAlso Read | Class act: Darren Lehmann lauds Virat Kohli as India captain stops fans from booing Steve SmithAlso See:last_img read more